Tales of the Unexpected

If you asked me what my life would be like in the future, a cockroach travelling buddy would not have featured in my response. Yet, here I am with my very special roach shaped travelling buddy. Pedro comes with me everywhere and he is now a very important member of the family. ⠀

I also would not have envisaged being part of an early morning radio show. It’s so much fun and gives me a chance to be a part of the hustle and bustle of life very early in the morning. The milkman, window cleaners, street sweeper and sleepy people clutching coffee cups. I have even walked in the rain and I was only mildly bothered about the new hole I found in the bottom of my converse. It is so much fun but I should really curb my giggles!

I was given also the opportunity to plug ‘The Little Cockroach’ on the Jeremy Vine Show! It was almost fated. Jeremy Vine was discussing with the panel that research had shown the importance of doing a job you love (it amazes me what researches actually research). After the panel unanimously agreed that yes it was important and the research was crazy, Jeremy came into the audience and came to me. Unbelievable.

I had the honour of hosting story time at Greenwich Waterstones. It was a lovely afternoon and I met so many lovely little people. It also gave us the chance to continue our ‘Roach Trip adventures and explore Greenwich. ⠀

I also had the privilege of being a guest on Tony Fisher’s BBC Essex show. We talked about Pedro’s adventures, the writing process and where TLC may go next. I absolutely loved it. All thanks for my little buddy Pedro.

Many of the amazing things I do with Pedro and the Roach Trip Gang would not be possible without the most amazing campervan in the world. Allow me to once again introduce the amazing Mille.

The past year has been full of the unexpected and not for one moment did I imagine that The Little Cockroach would earn it’s BEST SELLER flag on Amazon and remain there over Christmas and into 2020.

The opening dedication in The Little Cockroach is:⠀

‘Try and you might, don’t and you certainly won’t’. ⠀

For a long time I kept trying and felt like I was achieving nothing. I would put in 100% and get 3% back. What would Pedro & Enrico do? I have days where I think ‘this is too hard, why am I doing this?’ then I draw on the inspirational words of Jay Z who said:⠀

‘The genius thing that we did was, we didn’t give up.’

I have also been able to involve my family in this adventure. They have been with me every step of the way. It has taken us all to places we wouldn’t have otherwise visited and the amazing experiences are now shared with the special people in my life.

The past year has been filled with more than I ever expected. I’ve been looking back over 2019 and I can’t believe what we have achieved on our ‘Roach Trip adventures. Now I cannot wait for 2020 to see where we’ll go. It’s not all been easy and it has definitely been full of ups and downs. It’s only by reflecting on everything we have achieved that I am able to say… ‘yep, we did ok’. Thank you to everyone who has supported me throughout the year. I really mean it… THANK YOU. ⠀

Author: thelittlecockroach

Susie Violet is an English writer who grew up in the county of Essex. The Little Cockroach is the first in a series of travel adventures that will teach children about tenacity, other cultures and travel. She is an indie author working as a Finance Systems Analyst by day and writing in her spare time. At every available opportunity Susie travels around the UK on 'Roach Trips' in her camper-van reading her book at bookshops, schools & libraries.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started